![]() |
Parkes' knock on... |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Author | ||||
aber-fan ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 25 October 2004 Location: Wales Status: Offline Points: 16628 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 10 February 2020 at 3:59pm |
|||
I think you're right - I remember an incident a few years ago now, when a player juggled a pass up into the air (a bit like Tomos Williams the other day), and kept it up there as he kept on running - he rounded a defender in that way (who was completely bemused) and went on to either score himself, or offload for a try. It looked totally wrong and unfair, but the try stood!
|
||||
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sponsored Links | ||||
![]() |
||||
Rob o'r Bont ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Dr. Optimist Joined: 03 May 2008 Location: Bont Status: Offline Points: 13391 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Interesting if RR is correct and there has been a law change.
Edited by Rob o'r Bont - 09 February 2020 at 10:37pm |
||||
In a world where you can be anything – Be Kind.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
ap sior ![]() Veteran ![]() Joined: 08 May 2005 Location: Wales Status: Offline Points: 10049 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
IIRC, Parkes didn't regather the ball. He tapped it backwards to a Scarlets player. Juggling is ok as long it is regathered before it touches another player or the floor. That's how I remember the incident, and how I interpret the law on this.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
RR1972 ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 April 2009 Status: Offline Points: 13565 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Pretty sure there has been a law change regarding juggling the ball forward and regathering it since the original post
|
||||
![]() |
||||
joni_bach ![]() Senior Member ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 August 2015 Location: Llanelli Status: Offline Points: 471 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Same in Ireland Women v Wales Women today. Irish player knocked the ball forward in the tackle, regathered and it was fed out of the ruck and it led to an Irish try.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Rob o'r Bont ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Dr. Optimist Joined: 03 May 2008 Location: Bont Status: Offline Points: 13391 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
This just happened again in the France v Italy game, around the 13 minute mark. Ball slipped out of the French player's hand and he tapped it back without 'gaining control'. Ref didn't even blink; play on. Commentators said no problem. The only time I've ever seen a ref blow up for this was when Parkes did it in 2017.
Edited by Rob o'r Bont - 09 February 2020 at 3:36pm |
||||
In a world where you can be anything – Be Kind.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Rob o'r Bont ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Dr. Optimist Joined: 03 May 2008 Location: Bont Status: Offline Points: 13391 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I've noticed quite a few 'knock ons' saved by the backward flick pass, just like this one in recent international matches and the ref just plays on. Has anything changed since the the Parks incident or is everyone else just ignoring it?
Edited by Rob o'r Bont - 19 June 2018 at 12:49pm |
||||
In a world where you can be anything – Be Kind.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
ap sior ![]() Veteran ![]() Joined: 08 May 2005 Location: Wales Status: Offline Points: 10049 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
The more I think about the implications of this incident the more I think that the IRB need to clarify it asap.
I sincerely hope that someone is on the case. |
||||
![]() |
||||
GPR - Rochester ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 December 2014 Location: Rhydcymerau Status: Offline Points: 12157 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
No its the end of the flick pass if you have also knocked it forward!!!!
|
||||
![]() |
||||
reesytheexile ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 11 August 2012 Location: Machynys Status: Offline Points: 14511 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I don't get the reason for this negative rule as the Administrators of the game are always talking about more game time /live action and tempo. Who on earth felt this sort of scenario merited attention of a restrictive nature? It's very odd. Needs review.
|
||||
"I'd rather have been a judge than a miner.Being a miner,as soon as you are too old and tired and sick and stupid to do the job properly,you have to go.The very opposite applies with judges!"P.Cook
|
||||
![]() |
||||
salmidach ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 15 August 2004 Location: I Love Llanelli Status: Offline Points: 12598 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
so is this the end of the flick pass in rugby?
|
||||
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it's not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance - Terry Pratchett
|
||||
![]() |
||||
ap sior ![]() Veteran ![]() Joined: 08 May 2005 Location: Wales Status: Offline Points: 10049 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
When I watched the replay of the incident during the TMO referral, I was sure that Parkes steadied the ball with one hand before he tapped it on with the other. Don't think however that he had both hands on the ball simultaneously. However I've always assumed that it was possible to 'catch' a ball with one hand and use say the chest to steady it. Cast your mind back to last season/season before last and the 'tackle' on Sam Davies out in Connacht. The try was disallowed as it was deemed that he'd been tackled and held, however the tackler barely got hold of his shirt. Judging by that incident, and to be consistent, then the ball only needs to have minimal contact with the hand in terms of time for it to be deemed a catch
|
||||
![]() |
||||
scarletman ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Married with Kids - Close to Bankruptcy Joined: 18 August 2004 Location: Heol-y-Cyw Status: Offline Points: 12300 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Right then, some questions to stir the "hornets nest" Can you not catch a ball with one backward facing hand ? How long does it have to be in contact with the hand to be deemed a catch ?
Edited by scarletman - 13 September 2017 at 11:54am |
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
aber-fan ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 25 October 2004 Location: Wales Status: Offline Points: 16628 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Yes - we can see, now (after some good work by SFers) why the ref took his decision - the ball went forward, then was flicked - Hadleigh never caught the ball before it reached Elias - so the ref reckoned it was a knock on under the laws. I very much doubt the law was intended to be interpreted in this way, but the ref can certainly argue his point under the letter as it stands. Someone, somewhere, needs to take a decision on how, exactly, this sort of incident should be decided - knock on, or not - and send an instruction to the poor refs!
|
||||
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)
|
||||
![]() |
||||
GPR - Rochester ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 December 2014 Location: Rhydcymerau Status: Offline Points: 12157 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I don't see the flick pass against Munster being caught as there was no forward fumble.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
trident ![]() Veteran ![]() ![]() Joined: 06 January 2009 Location: The pie stall Status: Offline Points: 2828 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
No issue if it's flicked backwards surely. Only going to be a problem if it's flicked forward, in which case it's either a forward pass or knock on, take your pick! |
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |