Print Page | Close Window

Scarlets’ Region Prem Result - 27.10.04

Printed From: Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets
Category: RUGBY
Forum Description: Feeder clubs, Premiership Select XV, Age grade teams
Printed Date: 04 October 2023 at 11:51am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.04 -

Topic: Scarlets’ Region Prem Result - 27.10.04
Posted By: P Davies
Subject: Scarlets’ Region Prem Result - 27.10.04
Date Posted: 27 October 2004 at 9:11pm
Premiership Result from Parc y Strade

LLANELLI 24 - 3 Bridgend

Posted By: Pwllender
Date Posted: 27 October 2004 at 9:20pm
A great result in difficult conditions !


Posted By: M.M.
Date Posted: 27 October 2004 at 9:57pm
 Da iawn, Young Turks. Who were those noisy fellows in the North enclosure?

Posted By: redeyes
Date Posted: 27 October 2004 at 10:20pm

Originally posted by M.M. M.M. wrote:

 Da iawn, Young Turks. Who were those noisy fellows in the North enclosure?

i was one of them.Wink

The stadium may change, but the dream will remain the same!

Posted By: wizard
Date Posted: 28 October 2004 at 5:00pm

There's been a lot of talk last night on the tv by the commentators that the 1st try wasnt a try.

however at the end of the day the final decision comes down to the ref and its now in the record books.

The question was his feet were in touch before he touched down the ball.

A thread was started on gwlad last night about it which is very interesting

Originally posted by Dai on Gwlad Dai on Gwlad wrote:

B]"Law 19 - Touch, Line-Out and Line-Out Off-Side

.......The ball is in touch when a player is carrying it and the ball-carrier (or the ball) touches the touch-line or the ground beyond the touch-line.

.......A player in touch may kick or knock the ball, but not hold it, provided it has not crossed the plane of the touch-line. The plane of the touch-line is the vertical space rising immediately above the touch-line. "[/

So, a player has to be carrying the ball for it to be in touch if he touches the touch-line and the Llanelli winger was most certainly not carrying the ball. Further, the Law specifies that the player in touch can actually play the ball whilst he is in touch and the ball is in play provided that he does not hold it. This is interpreted to include the act of touching the ball down to score.

Hence Simmonds and his touch judge were right. Davies and Moore were wrong. But, I don't doubt, both officials have had a slating everywhere, not least Bridgend for something that the fans in general, erroneously believe to have been wrong.

Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04 -
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd. -